List of access keys

Clauses for standard elements of Treaty settlement Bills

The Attorney-General and Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations decided on 22 January 2013 that standard clauses are to be used in new Treaty of Waitangi settlement Bills covering redress that is common to most settlements.

The current standard clauses (as at 21 February 2019) are provided through the link below. The changes in this latest version relate to:

  • terminology introduced by the Land Transfer Act 2017
  • the change from the name Office of Treaty Settlements to the Office for Māori Crown Relations—Te Arawhiti
  • changes in the protocols section to accommodate a new approach to the Taonga Tūturu and Fisheries protocols
  • new clause 125A to better manage overlapping interests in a right of first refusal (RFR) area.

If you have any questions about standard clauses, please contact us.

View the standard clauses (PDF 585KB, as at 21 February 2019)

© Crown copyright 1997–2021